‘Tis the Season

Tax time doesn’t have the spirit of common communal suffering it used to.  I remember when I was filing in the ’90s in California, I found myself at the Stanford post office at 9pm on April 15, and the atmosphere was hilariously both festive and frenzied.  People were filling out their tax forms and asking each other questions like “can I deduct my tuition?” (answer: it depends), but at the same time there were drinks and jokes and a spirit of camaraderie.  That’s all gone away now that we all file online.

Happy Tax Day, folks.  Remember: tis better to pay the man now rather than later.  You want to tell the IRS what you owe them, and not the other way around.

Best of luck.

Tim Shields, UBS

Leave a Reply

